I am flawed and fallible, but moving on in Grace; a difficult, but beautiful, idea to grasp.

There are many things/ideas about God that I do not admit to understanding; however, faith allows me to accept them.

I can do no more today than yesterday, or in days past or future, to deserve God’s love or grace. I cannot make up for past decisions or behavior. I have done less in the past to deserve God’s love or grace, but he has loved me the same as today or any other day.

“Works” is not a proof to God that I love him or that he loves me; behavior does not determine belief or faith. Behavior is a proof to self that love for God exists. I get caught up at times in believing that if I do not “do the right things” that I will not be blessed; this is faulty thinking. I should “do the right things” to show God my love. Love should be, and in God’s case it is, unconditional- another difficult understanding.
However, I am human and I have made, do make and will continue to make bad decisions. Grace.

it’s the acceptance that i get fuzzy about sometimes. i think it is “fair” if I wallow in my own misery about my bad decisions. This does not compute with God. Yes, consequences for actions occur; however, not because God is ungracious. He is also a just God. It is his love that does not sway or change.

Shane & Shane
Embracing Accusation

The father of lies
Coming to steal
Kill and destroy
All my hopes of being good enough
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

The devil is preaching
The song of the redeemed
That I am cursed and gone astray
I cannot gain salvation
Embracing accusation

Could the father of lies
Be telling the truth
Of God to me tonight?
If the penalty of sin is death
Then death is mine
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

Oh the devil’s singing over me
An age old song
That I am cursed and gone astray
Singing the first verse so conveniently
He’s forgotten the refrain
Jesus saves!

Leave a Reply

