from You’ve Got Mail:

Kathleen Kelly: [writing to “NY152”] People are always saying that change is a good thing. But all they’re really saying is that something you didn’t want to happen at all… has happened. My store is closing this week. I own a store, did I ever tell you that? It’s a lovely store, and in a week it’ll be something really depressing, like a Baby Gap. Soon, it’ll be just a memory. In fact, someone, some foolish person, will probably think it’s a tribute to this city, the way it keeps changing on you, the way you can never count on it, or something. I know because that’s the sort of thing I’m always saying. But the truth is… I’m heartbroken. I feel as if a part of me has died, and my mother has died all over again, and no one can ever make it right.

 

This is my last week at GCSU. I’m packing up my office and finishing some paperwork. I am excited to move on to what is next, but that excitement does not make the leaving easy, just manageable.

I am leaving so much… of what has made me, me.

I am leaving… and I don’t get to say goodbye

 

You’ve Got Mail Moment

 

Leave a Reply

