Space and a pumpkin scone

There is something homey about Starbucks- especially when there are pumpkin scones. It’s like my coffee shop away from home- no matter how far away from home I am. I find it funny that I am in Hawaii and have escaped to Starbucks for space… to be alone… around strangers/other people.
Last night the house I am staying was very full. I feel grateful to have a place, but it is really a borrowed room with no space to be alone. The walls are thin and all of the windows are open so there is no real sense of solitude to be found. I come from living by myself for a long time so this is the biggest adjustment yet. 

This morning I sat on the porch and listened to Audrey Assad. I’m not a huge fan of her type of music (it has a 90’s pop-Christian feel), but her words are fantastic.

I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
Oh God, I wanna rest in You
Restless 

Other songs that I found encouraging this morning:

Everything is Yours

Known 

Show Me

Carry Me

 and I also read some very encouraging/convicting words from my Bible:

Isaiah 40:12-31 reminded me of who God is

Isaiah 43:1-7 reminded me of how much God values me

Romans 15:1-6 reminded me of how I am to conduct myself

and after this, I was yet again (gently) reminded of Proverbs 3:5– don’t try and figure everything out on my own, but trust God.


 

Leave a Reply

