Passionate Patience

I woke up to sad news today. A friend of mine, whom I love dearly, and her husband have been trying to have a child for several years. They were finally able to announce their pregnancy a week or so ago only to experience a threatened miscarriage. Now, after much prayer, the baby no longer has a heartbeat. 

I’m a do-er, a fixer and when I can not do anything, I plan. I can do absolutely nothing about this. I cannot fix it, I cannot do anything, I cannot plan to help… I do not even have words to speak to my friend. 

I sat on the porch this morning and just… shared all of this with God. My heartbreak for my friend, my frustration that I cannot do anything or find words to help. I proceeded to follow these with prayers of comfort and that He would raise up those around my friend who can offer these things- who can be there for her and her family physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally. 

Prayer is a funny thing- when it feels as though I can do nothing, I am left with the best thing I could ever offer- to pray.

This all leads to this morning’s “Our Daily Bread” (a sure sign that I have reached the status of “grown up” as my only interaction with this devotional tool has been seeing it in the company of my parents… and a sure sign that I’ve given in to being “grown up” is that I am actually using it). Today’s is based on Romans 5:1-5 (I like the Message) and in the latter part of this verse it states, “We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us…” I was struck with the idea of “passionate patience.” I’m hardly ever patient, not to mention passionately patient! In the devotional, the author writes, “The hope we read about in Scripture is not a vague, wishy-washy optimism. Instead, biblical hope is a strong and confident expectation that what God has promised in His Word He will accomplish. Tribulation is often the catalyst that produces perseverance, character, and finally, hope (Rom. 5:3-4).” 

This lead me to question, “What about my friend? Have her and her husband not been diligent in their faith that God has given them a desire for children? Have they not displayed faith that there is a purpose to be fulfilled? Have they not been persistent in their pursuit of this purpose? Have they not experienced enough ‘tribulation’?”
I had to then step back. I cannot answer these questions. I am confined in this present moment in time and space. I am not in charge and I have nothing to do with the running of their lives. I can, however, continue to pray for them with “passionate patience,” firm in my own belief and faith that God has a purpose for everything he allows in their lives and that it will ultimately be for their good and His glory. 

 

Since last night and into this morning, I have been listening to Jesus Culture sing Your Love Never Fails. I am caught on the chorus that says: 

You stay the same through the ages
Your love never changes
There maybe pain in the night but joy comes in the morning

Each time I hear/sing this chorus, I lift it up as a prayer for my friend. 

I also ask that you- yes, you who have come to this page via a link or randomly out of curiosity- that you will also pray. Whatever you have to offer up- a simple payer is more than adequate. I challenge you not to be held back by the unknown specifics of this situation… only that you would take just a moment to pray.

Leave a Reply

